Board Members

The seven members of the FASB serve full time and, to foster their independence, are required to sever connections with the firms or institutions they served before joining the Board. While they individually have diverse backgrounds, each has a concern for investors, other users, and the public interest in matters of accounting and financial reporting and they collectively have "knowledge of accounting, finance, business, accounting education, and research.”

Board members are appointed for five-year terms and are eligible for reappointment to one additional five-year term. Expiration dates (on June 30) of current terms are indicated.

Russell G. Golden, Chair

Russell G. Golden began his term as the seventh chair of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) on July 1, 2013. He was initially appointed to the FASB in 2010, after serving for six years on the FASB staff. Mr. Golden’s term as chair extends to June 30, 2017, when he will be eligible for appointment to an additional term of three years. From 2008 to September 2010, he was Technical Director of the FASB, overseeing FASB staff work on accounting standards and technical application and implementation activities. He also chaired the FASB’s Emerging Issues Task Force (EITF).

>> More

James L. Kroeker, Vice Chair

James L. Kroeker was appointed a member and vice chair of the FASB on September 1, 2013. In the latter role, he assists the FASB chair in representing the Board to external stakeholders and in conducting its internal operations, in addition to serving as a voting member of the Board. Mr. Kroeker joins the FASB from Deloitte, where he served as the Deputy Managing Partner for Professional Practice. Prior to joining Deloitte in January 2013, he served as the Chief Accountant of the Securities and Exchange Commission from January 2009 until his departure in 2012. In this capacity, Jim served as the senior accounting professional for the Commission and the principal advisor to the Commission on all accounting and auditing matters. He also was responsible for resolution of a wide range of globally significant accounting and auditing issues.

>> More

Daryl E. Buck, Board Member

Daryl E. Buck was named to the FASB by the Financial Accounting Foundation (FAF) in 2011, reappointed to a second term in 2015. Mr. Buck brings a strong private company financial reporting perspective to the FASB. Prior to joining the Board, he spent eighteen years as Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer of Reasor’s Holding Company, a privately-owned retail grocery company. In addition to leading the company’s financial, tax, and treasury functions, he advised senior management and the Board of Directors about the financial and tax implications of strategic opportunities and acquisitions, playing a key role in setting its strategic direction.

>> More

Thomas J. Linsmeier, Board Member

Thomas J. Linsmeier was appointed as a member of the FASB in July 2006, reappointed to a second term in 2011. An award-winning teacher and researcher with particular expertise in financial reporting for derivatives and risk management activities, Dr. Linsmeier was formerly Russell E. Palmer Endowed Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Accounting and Information Systems at Michigan State University. He also has served as Academic Fellow and Special Consultant to the Office of the Chief Accountant at the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). In addition, he has held professorial appointments at the University of Iowa and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

>> More

R. Harold Schroeder, Board Member

R. Harold “Hal” Schroeder joined the FASB in February 2011, reappointed to a second term in 2015. Mr. Schroeder is a CPA who brings over 30 years of diverse experience in investing and financial reporting to the FASB. Most notably, he brings a strong investor perspective to the FASB, with more than 15 years of experience working with all facets of the investment community. During his career, he has viewed the preparation of financial statements and the application of accounting standards from varying perspectives including auditor, preparer and investor. Prior to joining the Board, Mr. Schroeder was a partner at Carlson Capital, L.P., a Dallas-based money manager with assets under management of over $6 billion.

>> More

Marc A. Siegel, Board Member

Marc A. Siegel was appointed to the FASB in 2008, reappointed to a second five-year term in 2013. In this role, he brings an investor perspective to the Board that establishes U.S. generally accepted accounting standards for private-sector entities, including businesses and not-for-profit organizations. A recognized expert in forensic accounting, Mr. Siegel has 20 years of experience in diverse and global industries that include technology, media, telecommunications, healthcare, retail, and insurance. Prior to his appointment to the FASB, he led the Accounting Research and Analysis team at the RiskMetrics Group in Rockville, Maryland.

>> More

Lawrence W. Smith, Board Member

Lawrence W. Smith joined the FASB in 2007, and was reappointed to a second five-year term effective July 1, 2012. Prior to his appointment, Mr. Smith spent five years as Director, Technical Application and Implementation Activities, of the FASB. In this role, he managed FASB activities related to application and implementation issues, and served as Chairman of its Emerging Issues Task Force (EITF). Mr. Smith joined the FASB staff in 2002 after a distinguished 25-year career at KPMG. From 1988 to 2002, he was a Partner with KPMG, located most recently in its Stamford, Connecticut office.

>> More